Sign In
Fast Facts

​General Facts:

  • Prairie Valley School Division, established in 2006, is one of 28 school divisions in the province

  • Prairie Valley spans a geographic area from Regina Beach and Bethune to the west, to Kelliher and Lipton to the north, Milestone, Sedley and Montmartre to the south and Whitewood and Kennedy-Langbank to the east.

  • Geographic Area 27,798 sq km

  • Number of Schools: 39

  • Number of Communities: 32

  • Number of students: Approximately 8,100

  • School Configurations: two Hutterian K-12 schools, five K-6 schools, one K-7 school, twelve K-8 schools, one K-9 school, eleven K-12 schools, four grade 7-12 schools, one grade 8-12 school and two grade 9-12 schools. Prekindergarten is also offered in certain schools.

  • Fifteen First Nations are located within or are in close proximity to the division: Piapot, Muscowpetung, Pasqua, Standing Buffalo, Little Black Bear, Okanese, Star Blanket, Peepeekisis, Muskowekwan, Carry-the-Kettle, Sakimay, Cowessess, Kahkewistahaw, Ochapowace, and Pheasant Rump.

  • There are two Hutterite schools in the division: Arm River and Lajord

  • Prairie Valley offers Prekindergarten at Balcarres Community School, Broadview School, Fort Qu’Appelle Elementary School, Grenfell Elementary School, Indian Head Elementary School, Kelliher School, Lipton School, Lumsden Elementary School, Pilot Butte School and Whitewood School.


  • Total school-based and division office employees: approximately 1,100

  • Teachers: 567

  • Administrative Assistants: 54

  • Library Assistants/Technicians: 27

  • Caretakers: 49

  • Educational Assistants: 201

  • Regular Bus Drivers: 177


  • The total square meters of Prairie Valley School Division buildings is 119,527

  • The net book value of capital assets in Prairie Valley School Division as per the 2011-12 Budget document was $65,512,771. Some of those assets include buildings, playgrounds, buses, computers, furniture and equipment.

  • 2011-2012 was another ambitious capital renewal year for Prairie Valley School Division, with over $15 million invested in projects ranging from energy performance upgrades, small building projects, major building renovations and new construction.

  • Prairie Valley’s Board of Education has approved $xx million in principle to continue with facility capital renewal at Kipling, Vibank, Balcarres, Lumsden Elementary School, White City, the Division Office, and approximately 10 school room renovation projects over the next 24 months.

  • 2011-12 saw the completion of the Division’s Energy Performance Contract Project.  The scope of this four-year $24-million project included the upgrading of heating, ventilation, controls, and lighting systems throughout division facilities.

Information Technology:

Prairie Valley has:

  • 3,885 computers and laptops

  • 565 iPads

  • 45 physical servers

  • 214 virtual servers

  • 445 SMARTBoards

  • 31 SMARTTables SMARTTables

  • 210 SMART Document cameras


  • From September to December 2010, school libraries together circulated an average of 36,000 books a month, for a total of 146,000 by the end of December 2010

  • Number of patrons in the library data base: 9,915

  • Number of titles in school libraries: 149,530

  • Number of books in school libraries: 428,270 (not including textbooks or guided reading)

  • Number of EASY books: 81,876

  • Number of fiction books: 111,046

  • Number of textbooks: 180,438

  • Number of videos: 9,150

  • The Division has close to 50,000 professional resources

Finances (2012-13 Budget):

  • Operating Revenue $98,427,090
  • Capital Revenue $13,587,223
  • Debt repayment $1,160,337
  • Total estimated expenses $94,300,667
  • Every year, Prairie Valley processes over 26,000 vendor invoices, in excess of $47 million in value.


  • Number of students transported daily: 4,383
  • Number of bus routes travelled daily: More than 178
  • Number of kilometers driven per day: 24,762 km
  • Number of bus drivers: 178 regular drivers, with approximately 70 spare drivers
  • Transportation services also include a training program for our drivers and mechanics who regularly service and maintain buses from a shop in Grenfell and a shop in Regina.

Board of Education:

  • Prairie Valley School Division has elected trustees from 11 subdivisions. Trustees in each subdivision are elected by voters to represent all students in the Division.
  • Trustees serve the Prairie Valley School Division Board of Education for four-year terms. 

Administrative Council Executive:

  • The Director of Education, Ben J. Grebinski, is the Chief Executive Officer of the School Division and reports to the elected corporate board. The Director of Education/Chief Executive Officer is responsible for administration of the division, supported by Deputy Director and Chief Financial Officer Naomi Mellor and senior leaders in the Administrative Consortium representing portfolios in both Division Services and Instruction and School Operations.